Tuesday, May 10, 2016

TPS Students Receive Westar Scholarships

Westar Energy recently awarded the 2016 Westar Energy/Haines –Weber Scholarships and four were awarded to Topeka Public Schools’ students. The students each received a Community Scholarship, which provides a $2,000 scholarship, renewable for four years, for a total of $8,000. The students will also receive campus mentoring support and will be honored at a recognition dinner.

Trey Austin, Topeka West High School, will be attending Kansas State University and plans to study computer science.

Eric Hoyt, Topeka West High School, plans to study nuclear engineering at Kansas State University.

Jirani Smith, Topeka High School, will attend Washburn University and plans to pursue a degree in actuarial sciences.

Skylan Wagner, Topeka West High School, will attend Kansas State University and hopes to study computer science.

Congratulations, Trey, Eric, Jirani and Skylan—have fun and study hard!