Local High Schools Honor Alums

Highland Park High School, Topeka High School and Topeka West High School recently held induction ceremonies for their respective halls of fame.
On Sunday, October 4th, the Topeka High School Historical Society inducted Charles B. Axton II (1950), Fred L. Slaughter (1960), Col. Richard Snyder (1941) and Linda Dickinson Spalding (1961) into the school’s Hall of Fame. Former history teacher and 1914 graduate Amy Swenson received the 2015 THS Distinguished Staff Award.
On Saturday, October 10th, Highland Park High School held a ceremony for their Hall of Fame and Wall of Honor inductees. Larry Robbins (1967) and George Whitney (1956) were inducted into HPHS Hall of Fame. Members of the 1964 wrestling team were inducted to the school’s Sports Wall of Honor.
On Sunday, October 11th, the Topeka West High School Graduate Hall of Fame and Distinguished Staff ceremony took place. Cindy Schmidt Heath (1967), Mark Hunt (1967) and Kevin Young (1988) were all inducted into the school’s Hall of Fame. Jim Elmborg, Ed Scarlett and Linda Wardlow were all awarded the TWHS Distinguished Staff Award.

Congratulations to all of the inductees and award winners!

Featured Post

Neighborhood Veteran Volunteers to Help Keep Kids Safe: September Above & Beyond Award

On a rainy Wednesday morning, Matthew Davis is found in a neon yellow jumpsuit and army boots directing school buses, cars and students safe...