Caspers Named K-ACTE Administrator of Year

Congratulations to Eileen Caspers, General Director of School and Career Programs for Topeka Public Schools. She was recently named Administrator of the Year by the Kansas Association for Career and Technical Education.

"It is an honor to be selected as the K-ACTE Administrator of the Year for 2015. In the last few years, career and technical education has increased in recognition by students, parents and teachers. It is critical that we continue to assist students in experi...encing careers of their interest and assist them in discovering how their high school curriculum is relevant to their futures,” Caspers said of her award.

According to its website, “The Kansas Association for Career & Technical Education Awards Program seeks to promote excellence in career and technical education by recognizing individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the field, programs that exemplify the highest standards, and organizations that have conducted activities to promote and expand career and technical education.”

As the state Administrator of the Year award winner, Caspers will be considered for the regional award next year.
Congratulations, Eileen!

Housekeeping Excellence Awards

If you have a chance, take a look inside Stout Elementary, Robinson Middle School, Topeka High School and Sheldon Child Development Center.  These are among the cleanest schools, thanks to the head building operators at those schools.

Those operators were recognized and received the 2014-15 Housekeeping Excellence Award at the July 9 board of education meeting.  Each school and building undergoes a detailed inspection with points given for clean floors, bathrooms, classrooms and overall clean condition.

Head building operator Calvin Colbin of Stout Elementary, Colleen Riggs of Robinson Middle School, Linda Palmore of Topeka High School and Joe Flower of Sheldon Child Development Center were the winners of the Housekeeping Excellence Award.

New BOE President and Vice President Elected

Patrick Woods will serve as president of the Topeka Public Schools Board of Education for the 2015-16 school year.  Michael Morrison will serve as vice president.  The two were selected at tonight’s school board meeting, the first meeting of the new fiscal year.

Woods has previously served as president of the board.  He has been a board member since 2007.  Michael Morrison has been a board member since 2013.

Woods and Morrison replace Janel Johnson and Peg McCarthy who served as president and vice president during the 2014-15 school year.

Featured Post

Neighborhood Veteran Volunteers to Help Keep Kids Safe: September Above & Beyond Award

On a rainy Wednesday morning, Matthew Davis is found in a neon yellow jumpsuit and army boots directing school buses, cars and students safe...