Two Students Awarded Dean Smith Scholarship

In February of this year, Topeka High graduate Dean Smith (THS 1949) passed away. At the suggestion and lead gift of former Senator Nancy Kassebaum (THS 1950) a scholarship honoring Mr. Smith was established.

Whitney Holloman and Jordaan Ramirez-Jennings are the first recipients of the Topeka High Dean Smith Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to a boy and girl graduating from Topeka High who earned above average grades, participated in varsity sports at Topeka High and will be attending a Kansas college.

Whitney, will graduate number two in her class. She was active in track and field, basketball, tennis, band, National Honor Society and Math Honors Club. She signed a letter of intent to play collegiate tennis at Washburn University.

Jordaan played basketball and was on the Link Crew. He’s in the top 10% of his class, National Honor Society, Math Honors Society and was a Wendy’s Heisman Winner. He went to the Rotary Youth Leadership Academy Camp. He signed a letter of intent to play basketball at Ottawa University.

Dean Smith graduated from Topeka High in 1949. He coached North Carolina basketball for 36 years, won 879 basketball games, won the Atlantic Coast Conference championship 15 times, was ACC Coach of the Year nine times, National Coach of the Year three times, coached the 1976 gold medal Olympic team and last November was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom by President Obama.

Contributions to the Topeka High Dean Smith Scholarship can be sent to the Topeka Community Foundation, a 501(c)(3) organization, at 5431 SW 29th St, Topeka, KS 66614

Featured Post

Neighborhood Veteran Volunteers to Help Keep Kids Safe: September Above & Beyond Award

On a rainy Wednesday morning, Matthew Davis is found in a neon yellow jumpsuit and army boots directing school buses, cars and students safe...