Kelley Norman is a Master Teacher

Kelley Norman, Master Teacher 2013

The Teacher’s College at Emporia State University (ESU) has announced that TPS mathematics coach Kelley Norman has been selected as a 2013 Master Teacher. Kelley is one of seven 2013 Kansas Master Teachers, the 60th class in the program. She was honored at Kansas Master Teacher Day, April 3, 2013, on the Emporia State Campus.

TPS mathematics coach Sarah Meadows was the last TPS teacher to earn this distinction, being named Master Teacher in 2009. Norman and Meadows are the only TPS teachers to attain Master Teacher recognition since 1957.

ESU established the Kansas Master Teacher awards in 1953. The awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and well and who also typify the good qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers. To be eligible for nomination, each candidate must have served at least five years in schools in Kansas as a teacher or instructional leader, exemplified teaching or administrative effectiveness, and demonstrated the attitude and abilities specified in the National Education Association's Code of Ethics of the Educational Professional. Qualified candidates demonstrate these qualities by submitting an application documenting his or her educational philosophy, job performance, outstanding community service, continuous professional growth, exceptional school service and participation in professional organizations.

Norman began teaching with TPS in 2004. She is currently a mathematics coach for Chase Middle School and Robinson Middle School. Chase Principal Teresa Songs says, “Ms. Norman exemplifies the qualities of a distinguished educator. She has impacted student achievement through her work with teachers, students and the educational profession.”

Topeka Public Schools conducts a selection process for its Master Teacher candidate each fall. Once the TPS candidate is chosen, he/she must put together extensive application materials to submit to the Master Teacher program in January.

In January, ESU convenes a selection committee to select seven Master Teacher honorees from seven regions of the state. The committee is comprised of the president or designated representative from prominent educational organizations such as: Kansas-National Education Association, Kappa Delta Pi-International Honor Society in Education, Kansas State Board of Education, Kansas Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, Kansas Association of School Boards, Kansas Congress of Parents and Teachers, Kansas Division of the American Association of University Women, and United School Administrators. Two Master Teachers from the previous year also serve on the committee
Each year, selected teachers are recognized during a special Kansas Master Teacher Recognition Day at Emporia State University. During the day, the teachers participate in several activities including a seminar, social and award dinner where each teacher is honored.

Featured Post

Neighborhood Veteran Volunteers to Help Keep Kids Safe: September Above & Beyond Award

On a rainy Wednesday morning, Matthew Davis is found in a neon yellow jumpsuit and army boots directing school buses, cars and students safe...