TPS Nominees to State Programs Announced

The district selection committee is pleased to announce the Topeka Public School nominees to the Kansas Teacher of the Year (KTOY) program and the Master Teacher program.

Kirsten Cigler Nelson
The TPS nominee for KTOY in the secondary teacher category is Kirsten Cigler Nelson. Ms. Nelson has been a teacher at Topeka High School since 1997. During her career, she has taught journalism, ninth and tenth grade English, and Advanced Placement English courses. Topeka High Principal Dr. Linda Wiley says, “Kirsten is an exemplary classroom teacher and prepares her students to the highest academic levels. Her students have been provided with a high-level, challenging and outstanding high school education in English when they graduate from Topeka High.”

Pat Nash

Scott Magnet P.E. teacher Pat Nash is the KTOY elementary nominee. Pat began teaching in Topeka Public Schools in 1979. She has been at Scott Magnet for the past one and a half years since transferring after the closing of Lundgren Elementary. “Ms. Nash makes physical education lessons enjoyable, educational and beneficial for all students,” says Scott Principal Deborah Sidwell. “Her enthusiasm motivates everyone around her to participate. Pat Nash is an icon of what an extraordinary physical education teacher should be.”

Kelley Norman

Kelley Norman is the TPS nominee for the Master Teacher Award. She began teaching with TPS in 2004. Ms. Norman is currently a mathematics coach for Chase Middle School and Robinson Middle School. Chase Principal Teresa Songs says, “Ms. Norman exemplifies the qualities of a distinguished educator. She has impacted student achievement through her work with teachers, students and the educational profession.”

Sponsored by the Kansas State Board of Education, the Kansas Teacher of the Year Award recognizes, representatives of excellent teaching in Kansas elementary and secondary classrooms. TPS nominees Kirsten Cigler Nelson and Pat Nash will complete an application process to be considered for the 2013 award.

Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher awards in 1953. The awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and well and who also typify the good qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers. As the TPS nominee, Kelley Norman will complete application materials and submit them to Emporia State University for consideration as a 2013 Kansas Master Teacher.

Featured Post

Neighborhood Veteran Volunteers to Help Keep Kids Safe: September Above & Beyond Award

On a rainy Wednesday morning, Matthew Davis is found in a neon yellow jumpsuit and army boots directing school buses, cars and students safe...