Equity Council Chosen

The Topeka Public Schools Equity Planning Team recently made a call for applicants for the newly forming Topeka Public Schools Equity Council. http://cjonline.com/news/2012-04-22/usd-501-equity-council-seeking-members 

The Planning Team met on April 25 to select members from the applications submitted. Those named to the Council are as follows:

Alishia Bush, Middle School Parent
Yesenia Ceja-Ramirez, Classified Staff
Carol Christensen, District Citizen's Advisory Council Representative
William Dale, At-Large
Julie Ford, Superintendent (ex-officio)
J’Shavon Hendricks, Topeka High Student
Joan Hicks, Elementary Parent
Janel Johnson, Board of Education (ex-officio)
Antwaun Jones, Classified Staff
Madeleine Kiamco, Middle School Teacher
Edward Kirtdoll, Community/Business
Angela Locke, Classified Staff
Kimberly Minson, High School Parent
Beryl New, At-Large
Nick Nichols, Middle School Principal
Christine Saunders, Elementary Principal
Cary Sauro, High School Teacher
Marci Tarrant, Community/Business
Keith Tatum, Community/Business
Linda Wiley, High School Principal
Betty Young, At-Large
Ashley Youngbird, Elementary Teacher

(Other members will be appointed at a later time.)

Members will attend Beyond Diversity training on May 23 and 24 at Washburn Institute of Technology. More information about the purpose of the TPS Equity Council can be found here.

Featured Post

Neighborhood Veteran Volunteers to Help Keep Kids Safe: September Above & Beyond Award

On a rainy Wednesday morning, Matthew Davis is found in a neon yellow jumpsuit and army boots directing school buses, cars and students safe...