Two TPS Teachers Nominated for Horizon Award

Kenya Patzer

Emillie Galloway

  Two TPS educators have been selected as district nominees to a statewide award program. Randolph teacher Emillie Galloway and Topeka High teacher Kenya Patzer have been chosen as TPS nominees for the Kansas State Department of Education Horizon Award program.

The Kansas Horizon Awards are sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education. The award recognizes exemplary first-year educators. Last year, 32 educators from around the state were recognized.

The Horizon Award program, currently in its ninth year, allows all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. To be eligible for a Horizon Award, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. The Horizon Award program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state’s U.S. Congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each region.

The 2011 Horizon Award winners will be announced in January.

Featured Post

Neighborhood Veteran Volunteers to Help Keep Kids Safe: September Above & Beyond Award

On a rainy Wednesday morning, Matthew Davis is found in a neon yellow jumpsuit and army boots directing school buses, cars and students safe...