Saturday, October 30, 2010

Schools Win Challenge Awards

Congratulations to the following schools for receiving a Certificate of Merit as part of the 8th Annual Challenge Awards. The award recognizes schools for outstanding achievement and uncommon accomplishment based on the 2010 Kansas Assessment results and other qualifying factors including the sample size, ethnicity and socio-economic status of those taking the test.
The awards are presented by the Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force. The schools were honored at a recognition dinner November 10 in Junction City.

McCarter Elementary – 4th Grade Math
McCarter Elementary – 4th Grade Reading
Stout Elementary – 5th Grade Reading
State Street Elementary – 5th Grade Math

Website Picture (left to right) Kansas State Department of Education Commissioner Diane DeBacker, McCarter Elementary teacher Kimberly Bayless, Kansas State Department of Education Deputy Commissioner Dale Dennis, McCarter Elementary Principal Kathy Cooney, McCarter Elementary teacher Vanessa Rosalan and Kansas State Department of Education Deputy Commissioner Brad Neuenswander.