Thursday, April 13, 2017

TPS Honors 2017 Distinguished Staff Members

Topeka Public Schools honored the 2017 Distinguished Staff Award winners on April 12 at French Middle School. The winners of these awards have a total of 191 years of service to TPS. The award is the highest honor that TPS bestows on their employees.

Here are this year's winners of the Distinguished Staff Awards:

2017 Distinguished Staff Award honorees with the Topeka Public Schools Board of Education. 

 Marcus Clark, Custodial, Highland Park High School, right, hugs TPS School Board President Patrick Woods. 

 Steven Crawford, Paraeducator, Chase Middle School, right, with Principal Dr. Keith Jones. 

 Dustin Dick, Building Leader, Topeka West, right, with TPS School Board Vice-President Dr. Michael Morrison. 

 Debbie Dickerson, Elementary Educator, Stout Elementary, left, with Principal John Litfin. 

 Peggy Fisher, Certified Support Staff, Lundgren Education Center, right, with Dr. Jennifer Barnhart. 

 Denise Good, Classified Support Staff, Burnett Center, right, with Marie Carter. 

 Michael Hoover, Food Service, Eisenhower Middle School, right, with Principal Leosha Giardina. 

 Elena Ramirez-Johnson, Office Personnel, Highland Park High School, left, with Principal Dr. Beryl New. 

Jessica McHenry, First-Year Teacher Secondary, Eisenhower Middle School, left, with Principal Leosha Giardina.  

 Ellie Myers, First-Year Teacher Elementary, McEachron Elementary, right, with Principal Vic Williams. 

 Kirsten Cigler Nelson, High School Educator, Topeka High School. 

 Larry Robbins, District Leader, Burnett Center, right with TPS Superintendent Dr. Tiffany Anderson. 

Robert Schawo, Middle School Educator, Jardine Middle School, right, with TPS School Board President Patrick Woods. 

For more photos of the event check out the TPS Facebook gallery

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

HPHS Key Club Students Attend State Conference

HPHS Key Club Students Attend State Conference

Twelve Highland Park High School Key Club students started their spring break attending the 67th annual Key Club District leadership conference in Wichita. At the conference, students from various parts of Kansas heard from guest speakers, shared ideas on how to better serve their communities and completed in different categories.

Congratulations to Jonathan Lozano, who ran for District Officer and will serve as this year's Division 11 Lieutenant Governor. Cassandra Santiago won first place on her solo performance of Sapphische Ode by Brahms, which she sang in the Talent Contest. Marineth Ordinal won second place in the Impromptu Essay Contest in which she composed in 45 minutes.

Club Sponsor, Bria Collins, wants to give special thanks to Mr. Nathan Cooper for driving and chaperoning the trip. To Ms. Angie Davis and Ms. Monica Augusto for their help in arranging transportation and billing. The Key Club is sponsored by the Southwest and Downtown Topeka Kiwanis and each club generously donated to cover the remaining costs of the conference fees and lodging.

Key Club is an international student-led organization to provide service, build character and develop leadership.

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Topeka Center for Advanced Learning (TCALC)

The Topeka Center for Advanced Learning (TCALC) is underway with four pathways: Teaching and Training, Medical Science, Environmental and Energy, and Engineering Robotics and Advanced Manufacturing. Teachers are attending the 8th grade parent nights at each of the high schools and Hope Street Academy Career Fair to visit with students and parents of the opportunities of the program for juniors and seniors.

Enrollment is now being secured for 2017-18. Requirements for enrollment: on track for graduation, junior or senior status, willing to be on teams with students across the district, and following business ethics in class and projects working with business. If a parent or student has any questions, they can contact Eileen Caspers, General Director of School and Career Programs at 785-295-3041 or email:

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Dr. Anderson Takes Part in National Discussion

The Aspen Institute, an international organization, has involved Topeka superintendent in national discussion on educational policies. The Senior Congressional Education Staff Network convenes annually and is involving the Topeka superintendent the national discussion. 

In February, a small group of 30 people comprised of Congressional staffers from the Senate and House education and workforce committees, experts from across the country and Aspen staff will meet to review and discuss policies on the implementation of federal education policy on states, districts and schools. Dr. Anderson is one of the selected experts as a result of her past work impacting eliminating achievement gaps and her current work on the Every Child Succeeds Act. 

The prior Aspen Institute panel discussion involving the superintendent can be seen here

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

All-State Elementary Choir

Do-re-me-fa-so-la-ti-do! Third, fourth and fifth graders everywhere have been practicing their vocals in the hopes that they will be selected to participate in the next All-State Elementary Choir. This is the second year that the All-State Elementary Choir has been held and over seven hundred Kansas students submitted audition tapes of themselves singing a capella, “My Country ‘Tis of Thee” (America). Of the seven hundred students who auditioned, a little over one hundred students were selected to be part of this performance.

Four of our own Topeka Public Schools students have been selected to be a member of the All-State Elementary Choir! Fourth-grade students at Meadows Elementary, Emma Culbertson, Kayleigh McCray and Natalie Ortiz along with a fifth-grade student at State Street Elementary, Emily Estrada were thrilled to find out that they have been chosen.

The hard work doesn’t end there; the students will have only two months to prepare for the President’s Concert at the Kansas Music Educators Association (KMEA) in-service workshop on February 23, 2017. With the help of a rehearsal CD, family support and dedicated teachers (Josh Yoho, Molli Haller, Jennifer Gilbert and Bethany Linville), the students will learn the music before joining the other selected choir members that day in Wichita. Led by Elizabeth Nunez, a clinician/children’s choral director from New York, the choir will meet and rehearse February 23, with only a few breaks and then present their concert that evening.

Congratulations Emma, Kayleigh, Natalie and Emily, we are proud of all our fine musicians.